All About KeMU

about kemu

What to Know First

Kenya Methodist University is a Chartered Christian University, with the main campus situated in Meru and other campuses at Nairobi and Mombasa. KeMU offers PhD, Masters, Degree, Diploma and Certificate programmes. Our market driven courses, industry linkages and opportunities outside classroom provide positive career outcomes for our students in their chosen fields. Over the years we have grown to be a global brand in higher education with over 32,000 alumni. We are first and only private university in Kenya to graduate medical doctors. To find out more about us, continue exploring our website.

Our Profile

Our History

The Kenya Methodist University (KeMU) is a Christian chartered private university. It was founded by the Methodist Church in Kenya (MCK). The Church first established Kaaga Rural Training Centre for training the community in Agriculture and later the Methodist Training Institute (MTI), which became a centre for training Ministers for the Methodist Church. In 1984, the Church decided to establish a university in Kaaga, Meru. In 1987, a committee to develop modalities for establishing the university was formed. In 1995, the Commission for Higher Education (CHE) made an inspection visit of the proposed university and later in June 1997, granted a Letter of Interim Authority to establish Kenya Methodist University. KeMU became a chartered university in June 2006 upon being granted a Charter by President Mwai Kibaki.

University Growth and Development

Since its inception, the university has continued to grow and develop in terms of academic programmes, student numbers, staff, infrastructure, and campuses to cater for increasing demand for higher education in Kenya. Currently, the academic programmes are organised within four schools, namely, School of Business and Economics, School of Medicine and Health Sciences, School of Education and Social Sciences, and School of Science and Technology. The establishment and enhancement of the schools and programmes continues to be guided by the university’s Vision, Mission, and Philosophy. There were 28 academic departments with a population of 7,180 students as at December 2017. The university has well-established campuses in Meru, Nairobi, Mombasa and Nakuru. In view of the current developments in Open and Distance Learning (ODL), the university started the ODL mode of learning in 2002 and migrated to the digital platform – Centre for Virtual Learning (CVL), which was renamed Digital Campus in 2016. The Digital Campus has grown tremendously and currently has over 2,000 registered students, including those from other countries.

Our Vision

A globally competitive Christian University producing the next generation of professional and transformational leaders

Our Mission

To contribute to societal transformation by providing quality education that promotes excellence in scholarship, research, and selfless service

Our Motto

Laborare Est Orare (Translation from Latin to English: “To Work is to Pray”, Swahili: “Kazi ni Sala”)

Our Slogan

The Future is Here

Contact Information

Kenya Methodist University
P.O. Box, 267 – 60200, Meru, Kenya

P.O. Box, 45240 – 00100, Nairobi, Kenya</span
P.O. Box, 89983 – 80100, Mombasa, Kenya

Mobile and Email:

Mon – Fri 8:00A.M – 5:00P.M

Social Info

Student Resources

Need Help?